Veterans Day – a day off?

Posted: November 11, 2013 in Kids

Today is Veteran’s Day.  I think of many people today.  My many uncles and cousins who have served in the military.  My friends who have served.  I think of my grandmother too.  How we miss her.  She always used to sell poppies for Veteran’s Day.  We would all have them hanging in our cars from our mirrors.  She would have hers hanging from her kitchen cupboard.  

My three kids have the day off from school.  We will think of our family and friends today.  We have thanked our special friend Jesse Cornell this weekend.  We think the world of him and I am so thankful that he is such a strong influence on my children.  

The 2 boys of course have hockey practice tonight.  B has pictures.  R’s team practice will be filmed for a commercial for a local TV station.  Very exciting.  But during the day today, we will reflect on why we have today “off” from school.  And we will bake…

Leave a Reply

